It was maybe 26 years before I decided that I could cook.

Ok, sure, I grew up and I had an easy baker, and I helped my mother out in the kitchen while she made a cake, or created her pasta sauce. None of this involved experiments, creativity, and passion, I was just a helper. My love for cooking only began about a year or two ago. Mostly I think my inspiration to start cooking came from my travel around Italy last summer. My travel partner was passionate about food, and it became contagious once we visited restaurants recommended by locals and weaved through the markets testing out the local food specialties.

Here is one of my favorite recipes, inspired from my trip to Italy:

Source

Vegetarian Lasagna Rolls (serves 2-4)

2 portabello mushrooms -thinly sliced

1 bunch spinach

1 small white onion – chopped

4-5 cloves garlic – diced

1 tsp oregnao

1 tsp basil

9 lasgagna noodles cooked

1 cup monterey jack cheese

1 container (32oz) ricotta cheese

1 jar tomato sauce

1 can whole tomatoes

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350°C
  • Saute garlic and onion in large skillet
  • Add mushrooms and spinach
  • Cook until spinach is wilted
  • Boil lasagna noodles in the meantime and drain when cooked
  • Combine both cheese in a bowl, add basil and oregano – mix well
  • Drain excess liquid from the sauteed vegetables and add to the cheese mixture to create the filling
  • Lay the lasagna noodles flat and spread filling mixture onto the noodle, lengthwise, leaving a 2cm space at either end
  • Roll the noodle tightly
  • Spread half of the tomato sauce on the bottom of a deep baking pan
  • Lay each lasagna noodle on the pan, on top of the sauce
  • When all noodles have been placed, top them with the remaining tomato sauce
  • Add the entire can of whole tomatoes to the top of the rolls as well
  • Cooking time: 60 minutes

Serve with garlic bread and optional topping of parmesan cheese over the rolls.

Leave a Reply

