Road Trip!

When I first met my boyfriend, it was on our second date that we came up with a list of road trips that we MUST do together. Yes, it was crazy for two reasons. First, we were talking about traveling together on our second date, and secondly, because we could think of so many road trips that we BOTH have desired to partake in. I found this list the other day, and was surprised that I could check a few of these places off the list already.

Here is the list that has been sitting in my phone for just over a year now:

1. Beartooth Highway – Through Yellowstone Country in Wyoming and Montana. Imagine all the wildlife wandering along on either side, the countless different landforms making you feel like you have gone through 5 different climate zones, gorgeous sunsets…

Source

2. Highway 101 – Along the west coast of the US (California, Washington, and Oregon). I can stop at one of my favorite US cities, San Francisco, take a side trip to Sonoma and Napa Valley, then move on to LA, to the Olympic Mountains, pause and enjoy a few beaches, and…, ok not in that order perhaps, but you get the idea I hope.

Source

3. Road to Hana – I have done this spectacularly jaw-dropping trip when I was in Hawaii and cannot wait to do it again to show my man. Again, you feel like you are driving through so many different climate zones. You go from hot, windy, beach suitable weather, to dark cool rainy roads, to lush rainforests, to deep valleys and gulches to high cliffs that seem to take you into the clouds.

4. Top of the World – Off to Alaska, northern BC and Yukon, sounds like an adventure waiting to unfold. Also, the Aurora Borealis is a must see for me. I saw it a few times in the past but I was very young in one instance, and in the other instance, it was faint. I want to see it in its full glory!

5. Going to the Sun – Done! WOW! And with the man. Glacier National Park in Montana treated us well for the brief time we were there. The mountains are gorgeous and make sure you ‘go to the sun’ as early as you can so you can enjoy the sun rising. The wildlife was also a great bonus. The road was under construction when we went, with a few delays, but how can you complain when you get to stop and stare at the scenery?

6. Great Smokies – I wasn’t too familiar with this one, but a trek through North Carolina and Tennessee sounds good to me! Hiking and camping in the Appalachians, just what I love!

7. Amalfi Coast – Done, with my man!  This drive was spectacular. We started out in Lanciano and went down to Pechiche,  Vieste, Bari, Matera then set out for the Amalfi coast going through Positano, and ending in Sorrento. Absolutely WOW. And this was done with a hugely majorly gigantic thanks to Katie, who could expertly drive a standard car through the narrow a** roads, up hills, back from dead end, and around droves of goats.

8. Highwood Pass – Done! Through Kananaskis Country. The two rock slide remnants I saw were facinating to see. Plus the mamma grizzly bear who we met two days in a row.  Oh, and the potato thing I had to eat at the Delta Hotel on my Restaurants page.

9. The Autobaughn – No speed limit! Amazing cars! Let me on there. As an unfortunate person who has received several speeding tickets, please, I just need to get out there and do my thing. Watch me be the slowest person on that highway…

10. Route 66 – Famous in the US. I want to feel this experience, after numerous songs, a tv show…all the stories, before it is gone.

11. Monument Valley – Arizona and Utah. Imagine all of the rocks to see! Sorry, I have a secret obsession with rocks! I could actually act out a movie  or two or three here.

Source

12. Death Valley – Scary sounding…hottest place in North America, imposing sand dunes. Another adventure! For some reason, when I think about this trip, I picture myself in cut off jean shorts, a white top, and a cowboy hat (with the boots lets not forget) kicking the tire of my broken down and smoking ’67 cadillac. My legs look great by the way in this visualization. Wasn’t there a music video, or 2 or 3 shot there?

Thelma and Louise

Start your engines!!

2 thoughts on “Road Trip!

  1. Pingback: My Happy Place « Wistfully Wandering

Leave a Reply

