Will this help my growing cold?

Yuck, I woke up this morning and greeted my dog with a sneeze fest. I suppose it’s about that time…

I am thinking that I need to consume vast amounts of soup this week, and I am thinking that my boyfriend should help me out with this Indian soup:

Chicken Mulligatawny Soup

Source

Ingredients

  • 6 skinless, boneless chicken thighs (about 400g)
  • 1/2 cup long-grain rice
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tbsp Madras curry paste, patted with paper towel to remove excess oil
  • 2 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp saffron threads
  • 1/2 cinnamon stick
  • 2 cups apple juice
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced
  • green apple, cilantro and fresh lime for garnish
  1. Remove excess fat from chicken, then slice into thin strips. Combine with rice, garlic, curry paste, ginger, salt, saffron and cinnamon stick in slow-cooker insert. Pour in 5 cups water. Stir until mixed. Cook on low until chicken is very tender, about 8 hours.
  2. Stir in apple juice, coconut milk and green onion. Remove cinnamon stick before serving. Garnish with grated apple, cilantro and a squeeze of lime. Soup will keep well, refrigerated, up to 2 days, or up to 1 month in freezer.

Nothing like a little spice to clear out my congestion!

Leave a Reply

