Toronto’s “Historic” Distillery District

Distillery District

It’s funny that they name the Distillery District in Toronto, where breweries began to pop up in the 1830’s. Now, when I think of ‘historic’, I think of Europe and 1400’s. But I guess historic begins as of yesterday.

I visited this district yesterday, in the soggy afternoon gloom. Despite the weather, though, I found this area to be quite cute and interesting.

The tour begins with narrow cobblestone walkways, with holiday decorated rows of red brick buildings on either side. (* picture me walking around hugging my Balzac’s chai latte closely to help warm me up)

Next, you run into a gigantic Christmas tree and a stage, where carollers sing various cheery holiday songs. Pretty neat.

After that, I ate at Mill Street Brewery, popular for their…umm..beer. Instead of getting a bit tipsy, I decided to try the multigrain pancakes with blueberry maple syrup. Delicious, but falsly advertised. Me thinks they ran out of blueberry syrup and I ended up with the usual maple business and real blueberries on the side. Oh well, as I said, deeelicious still.

Well, while there, why not do a tiny bit of holiday shopping? There were neat booths set

A bit of shopping? Sure!

up along the cobblestone selling anything from jewelry, syrups, to fudge and stocking stuffers. I tried to browse a few quite unique ‘gadget’ stores along the way, but the masses of people in these stores (remember, it’s pouring rain outside) deterred me from sticking around too long. I would love to go back after the holidays to check out the sales in some of these stores. Such unique items!

Unfortunately, due to the nasty weather, I did not stick around long enough to enjoy a nice cup of coffee on a year-round patio, set up with nice big and comfy looking couches and fire pits sharing their warmth with us soggy shoppers.

This area must be great in the winter, with a bit of snow, and less of a crowd. (note to self…go back!).

Balzac's Coffee. Organic Chai Latte - must get!

Leave a Reply

