Savory Saturday – Where the Buffalo Roam (in Canada)

I will not be cooking at all today, I am sorry.

My travels take me to the heart of Southwestern Ontario to see my good friends new baby girl. When I return home in the evening, I am looking forward to going for a bite to eat at one of my boys’ favorite Canadian pubs – Rebel House.

It’s one of those places you would love to be stuck in on a snowy day in the middle of winter. So cosy with a few fireplaces, friendly people, cheap, and amazing LOCAL food.

My mind is already focused on the mussels and the Buffalo Burger that I will quickly spill out to my waiter/waitress:

DOWNEAST MUSSELS – Fresh P.E.I. mussels with the chef’s daily sauce and spiced bread

BUFFALO BURGER

Fresh minced buffalo and beef grilled to order and served with homemade spicy ancho pepper ketchup, red onion, tomato and pickle on a country Kaiser with house salad and/or kettle fries

So, I am a bit curious as to how Buffalo burgers are created….and I need to have a recipe available for my ‘Savory Saturday’ post today….

Here we go! (with a recipe from Canadian Living)

Butchers at farmer’s markets and specialty stores are great sources for homegrown bison. Try these burgers with grainy mustard and whole wheat buns.

Ingredients

Preparation

In skillet, heat oil over medium heat; cook onion, stirring often, until softened and golden, about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, in large bowl, mix together egg, bread crumbs, beer, mustard, thyme, salt and pepper. Stir in onions, then bison; mix until just combined. Shape into four 3/4-inch (2 cm) thick patties. (Make-ahead: Store, separated by waxed paper, in airtight container and refrigerate for up to 24 hours. Or freeze for up to 1 month; defrost in refrigerator.)

Place patties on greased grill over medium heat; close lid and grill, turning once, until no longer pink inside and digital thermometer inserted sideways into centre reads 160°F (71°C), about 10 minutes. Sandwich in buns.

2 thoughts on “Savory Saturday – Where the Buffalo Roam (in Canada)

    • Hello! Actually, not at all. It’s comparable to beef but its healthier, leaner and richer (more flavourful). Such a great burger (ask for medium rare if you find a place). I also asked for sauteed mushrooms on top. Yum! I’ll post a picture soon!

Leave a Reply

