My dilemma

This summer I plan to head out on the long road.

The long road to…Grand Teton National Park and then Yellowstone National Park and then Waterton National Park and then Jasper National Park…and then civilization again in Vancouver. And then back to Toronto via ???

So here is my dilemma:

When I am in camping mode, I can pretty much ditch all those luxury goods and services, except one SIMPLE thing.

a shower, a toilet, a cell phone, a comfy bed, COFFEE!

And since my boyfriend insists on dragging me out of my warm sleeping bag (with 2 layers of pants, 3 pair of socks and 5 sweaters of course), into the extremely cold and dark bowels of the morning – sans coffee, well, let’s just say – my extremely laid back self has daggers, no wait, chain saws aimed at his head. (I love you…..).

After we see the peek of a sunrise – as us two, the lone souls in the middle of a deserted road, along the majestic Teton mountain range, with the jagged peaks welcoming the rising day into it’s arms, waiting for that magic light to take breathtaking photographs of a grizzly bear and her cubs grazing amongst the golden backdrop… Ok – get the picture?

Well I NEED MY COFFEEEEEEEE!!!!

We tried so hard last year to find a way to make a nice cup o’ in the car; tried to find a gas station open early enough for a steamer; I sweetly batted my eyelashes at my boyfriend to wait for me to build a fire and boil some water (no time…lighting is money honey!); attempted to wane myself off the addicting brown stuff…

Nope. I NEED MY COFFEE!

So, here is the best I could come up with, which would produce semi-warm liquid water, in which I would throw in a Starbucks single:

Somehow, I don’t think this will cut it. I’m still trying and welcome and suggestions 🙂

2 thoughts on “My dilemma

  1. Thanks for the link! You have an awesome way of writing! I love your style!
    The last time we were in that area, we stayed between Yellowstone and the Tetons at Flagg Ranch campground in July 2008. As we broke camp the morning we left, we noticed our exterior tent poles had ice on them! It was 29 degrees!
    We hit all of the same parks as you are planning on. Exception: we didn’t go to Vancouver. That’s on our bucket list.
    Enjoy! They all hold such beautiful wonders of the world.
    (PS…love your description of the Tetons…one of my fave mountain ranges)

    • Thank you so much for the compliments!

      I recall a fit of snow last June when I was in Teton, and many areas where the snow was still higher than my car. It was quite spectacular to see, and now I am expecting to see NO snow…as I hear is the case down there.

      If you ever need any recommendations on Vancouver, please let me know! My boyfriend lives there and knows it inside, out!

      I also love your blog! I can’t wait to go to the Great Smoky mountains, and I absolutely love Hayden Vally in Yellowstone.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

