Savory Saturday – Headin to the Beach

Since I have been dreaming about heading to the Bruce Peninsula in Ontario for a few days now, I close my eyes and picture myself relaxing on the beach after a long day hike, exploring caves, encountering wildlife, and drinking in beautiful cliffs and lake scenery.

What is the perfect beachy/picknicky food in my opinion?

Potato salad, sandwiches and chips!

Here is a deeeelicious potato salad recipe I can’t wait to try.

Red Potato and Roasted Pepper Salad with Mustard-Caper Vinaigrette

8 small red creamer potatoes, quartered
1/4 small red onion, diced
3 T. capers, drained
1 red bell pepper, roasted, peeled and chopped
4 T. chopped fresh Italian parsley
2 T. chopped fresh basil leaves
2 T. coarse grained dijon mustard
1 t. sugar
1 T. champagne vinegar
2 T. lemon juice
zest of one lemon
3/4 t. salt
freshly ground black pepper to taste
1/4 cup plus 2 T.extra virgin olive oil

Place potatoes in a pan to boil. Meanwhile place red onion, capers, bell pepper and parsley into a medium size bowl. Place all remaining ingredients except olive oil and capers in the bowl of a food processor. Turn machine on to blend ingredients. While machine is running, slowly add the oil until all is incorporated. Stop machine. When potatoes are tender, drain, then place in the bowl with the onion mixture. Pour the dressing over the potatoes and toss gently until completely mixed. Refrigerate.

Ohhhh yah – and I would have wine!

As for the sandwich – all I would do is bring rye, whole grain and white bread, an assortment of lunch meats (I love spicy salami and prosciutto), some mustard and perhaps tomatoes and lettuce and make my own, and eat as many as I WANT!

Finally, my favorite chips always depend on my mood. Sometimes I love BBQ Lays chips, other days I crave sun chips, many a time I love the salt and vinegar flavour, and occasionally dill pickle. Oh and once in a blue moon – cheetos! Those were my ‘chips’ of choice when camping last summer.

Mmmmm I am starving now. Anyone want to join?

Leave a Reply

