Living in Switzerland…not too shabby!

Hello readers of Wistfully Wandering!
I am one of two guest-bloggers filling in while our blogging traveller Wistfully Wandering is off…travelling, of course!  She has left big shoes to fill, but I will do my best to give you some travelling tidbits while she is away.
I am also a Canadian, but I currently live in Neuchâtel, Switzerland. I have been here two years, and am excited at the prospect of staying a little longer – I am about to move to Geneva!  More about that later.
Switzerland has been very kind to me, and I have been stunned by its beauty.  For today’s post, however, I will focus on Neuchâtel’s beauty. Neuchâtel is a small city (population about 40,000, also the capital of the canton of Neuchâtel) situated on Lac Neuchâtel – great for swimming in the summer, by the way!  It is nestled into the Jura mountain range (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jura_Mountains), with the mountains on one side and the lake on the other.  Though it can be a challenge for a cyclist like me (“nestled” into mountains makes for some mean hills!) it is incredibly picturesque.  Here are some photos I’ve taken while living here the past two years.

The above photo shows a typical Neuchâtel view, with the alps in the background.  In the foreground is the “red cathedral”.

The above shot was taken at dawn, from my window.

That shot was also from my window, but after a snowfall in winter!  They don’t get much snow here, though…

The above shot is of the Hotel Beau Rivage – a beautiful high-end hotel right on the lake.  With a café to die for!

Neuchâtel is a beautiful village, with many restaurants and cafés, and lots of life.  One of my favourite things to do is go to the market.  The main market is on Saturdays, but there are also markets on Tuesday and Thursday.  Not bad for a town of 40,000 people!

A friend had told me that one has to do a sampling of the market tomatoes, so I had no choice but to oblige!  There was such a variety, which is why I bought the assortment above.  The plant is purple basil, and the little tub is of local goat cheese packed in olive oil and herbs – I couldn’t resist!  The other jar is of local yoghurt, another local product I heartily enjoy.  The swiss know their dairy products!

I drizzled that salad with some quality olive oil and my new favourite balsamic vinegar, an aged vinegar that is thicker and slightly sweet.  Four “star” rating (some vinegars seem to have this…).

Have a good weekend everyone,

northkate

One thought on “Living in Switzerland…not too shabby!

  1. Pingback: The home stretch! | Wistfully Wandering

Leave a Reply

